In order to help employers interpret and comply with California’s new paid sick leave law, the California Division of Labor Standards Enforcement (DLSE) is providing a set of Frequently Asked Questions (FAQ). The FAQ’s state that written notice of the new law
shall be provided to all employees, including those hired prior to January 1, 2015.
Some highlights of the new paid sick leave law are below:
- Beginning July 1, 2015, employees will be provided with one hour of paid sick leave for every 30 hours worked and up to three paid sick days to be used per year.
- If a new sick leave policy was created, or revised in response to the new law, an employer must provide notice of the new or revised policy to its employees within 7 days of the effective date.
- For employees hired before January 1, 2015, employers must issue a revised Wage Theft Prevention Act notice or other appropriate written notice. An approved alternate notice can be utilized also. The notice could be included in a pay stub or within an itemized wage statement.
- Employers are to provide a notice of the new sick leave law requirements to all employees hired after January 1, 2015. The revised Wage Theft Prevention Act serves to satisfy this notice as well.
As an employer, be sure that your sick leave policies are compliant with California law and that you are prepared to implement any necessary modifications to existing policies by July 1, 2015. In summary, employees hired after January 1, 2015 should have already received notification of the new sick leave law and those hired prior to January 1, 2015, should be receiving a revised version of the notice.